alph eagles baseball

ALPHARETTA, Ga. — The 10-year old Alpharetta Eagles captured the 2020 Dizzy Dean Georgia state championship in its age group in Ringgold. The team plays out of Wills Park in Alpharetta.

The Eagles won all four of their tournament games by a combined score of 45-2. Players Evan Braaten and Caelen Fredrick combined for a no-hitter in the semifinals game, and Drew Whitney hit a two-run, walk-off home run to end the championship game by run rule.

The team went 26-2 in summer play and won six of seven tournaments. Other wins include the 2020 Georgia Allstar state championship and 2020 7th Annual Cherokee Open in Canton.

Player include :Stahle Smith II, Jake Sherrill, Peyton Hanson, Nico Whealton, Chase Stefanowicz, Evan Braaten, Caelen Frederick, Tanush Shetty, Patrick Whigham and Drew Whitney.

The team is coached by Jake Sherrill, Stahle Smith I, Max Hanson, Anthony Whealton and Dave Stefaniwicz.

Herald Sports

Herald Sports

Scores, stories and pictures from Joe and the Herald Sports gang. Delivered Sunday morning.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.