Voting booths stock photo

Candidate slate locked for May 19 primary

FORSYTH COUNTY, Ga.—Forsyth County residents will find themselves with numerous candidates for county, state and federal positions. Qualifying for the 2020 election ended March 6. 

Several current elected officials are running unopposed in the May 19 primary which will determine party candidates for the Nov. 3 general election. The last day to register for voting in the primary is April 20. Advance voting will take place April 27 to May 1; May 4-9; and May 11-May 15.

Here are the candidates who qualified:

U.S. Senate

Incumbent Sen. David Perdue is uncontested on the Republican side. Several Democratic candidates will compete to challenge him in the fall. Another candidate is running as a Libertarian.

• Sen. David Perdue (incumbent), Republican

• James Knox, Democrat

• Teresa Tomlinson, Democrat

• Shane Hazel, Libertarian

• Sarah Riggs Amico, Democrat

• Marckeith DeJesus, Democrat

• Tricia Carpenter McCracken, Democrat

• Jon Ossoff, Democrat

• Maya Dillard Smith, Democrat

U.S. Senate

For the seat occupied by Sen. Kelly Loeffler, there will be no vote on May 19. Instead, a nonpartisan primary will be held Nov. 3. All candidates will appear on the same ballot, and if no candidate receives a majority, there will be a runoff between the top two finishers on Jan. 5, 2021.

• Sen. Kelly Loeffler (incumbent), Republican

• Doug Collins, Republican

• Tamara Johnson-Shealey, Democrat

• Richard Dien Winfield, Democrat

• Allen Buckley, Independent

• Derrick Grayson, Republican

• Annette Davis Jackson, Republican

• A. Wayne Johnson, Republican

• Kandiss Taylor, Republican

• Deborah Jackson, Democrat

• Jamesia James, Democrat

• Matt Lieberman, Democrat

• Joy Felicia Slade, Democrat

• Ed Tarver, Democrat

• Raphael Warnock, Democrat

• Brian Slowinski, Libertarian

• Al Bartell, Independent

• Michael Todd Greene, Independent

• Valenica Stovall, Independent

• John “Green” Fortuin, Green Party

• Rod Mack, Write-in

U.S. House of Representatives, District 7

• Mark Gonsalves, Republican

• Lynne Homrich, Republican

• Renee Unterman, Republican

• Carolyn Bourdeaux, Democrat

• Rich McCormick, Republican

• Lisa Noel Babbage, Republican

• Zachary Kennemore, Republican

• Eugene Yu, Republican

• John Eaves, Democrat

• Nabliah Islam, Democrat

• Zahra Karinshak, Democrat

• Brenda Lopez Romero, Democrat

• Rashid Malik, Democrat

U.S. House of Representatives, District 9

• Michael Boggus, Republican

• Andrew Clyde, Republican

• Matt Gurtler, Republican

• Maria Strickland, Republican

• Kevin Tanner, Republican

• Ethan Underwood, Republican

• Devin Pandy, Democrat

• Paul Broun, Republican

• Kellie Weeks, Republican

• John K. Wilkinson, Republican

• Brooke Siskin, Democrat

• Dan Wilson, Democrat

State Senate, District 27

• Sen. Greg Dolezal (incumbent), Republican

• Brooke Griffiths, Democrat

State Senate, District 51

• Sen. Steve Gooch (incumbent), Republican

• June Krise, Democrat

State House, District 9

• Clint Smith, Republican

• Will Wade, Republican

• Steve Leibel, Republican

• Zach Tumlin, Republican

• Sharon Ravert, Democrat

• Doug Sherrill, Republican

• Tyler Tolin, Republican

State House, District 22

• Rep. Wes Cantrell (incumbent), Republican

• Charles Ravencraft, Democrat

• Bobbi Simpson, Democrat

State House, District 24

• Rep. Sheri Gillian (incumbent), Republican

• Natalie Bucsko, Democrat

State House, District 25

• Todd Jones (incumbent), Republican

• Christa Olenczak, Democrat

State House, District 26

• Lauren McDonald III, Republican

• Jason Boskey, Democrat

Forsyth County Board of Education

District 3

• Tom Cleveland (incumbent), Republican

• Barry S. Herrin, Republican

District 4

• Darla Sexton Light, (incumbent),


District 5

• Lindsey Adams, Republican

• Bibi Lopez, Republican

Forsyth County Commissioner

District 2

• Alfred John, Republican

District 4

• Cindy Jones Mills (incumbent), Republican

• Kenny Anderson, Republican

• Amy Barfield, Republican

• Brandy Bevis, Republican

District 5

• Laura Semanson (incumbent), Republican 

Forsyth County Sheriff

• Ron H. Freeman (incumbent), Republican 

Forsyth County Coroner

• Paul W. Holbrook, Republican

• Ted Paxton, Republican

Clerk of Superior Court

• Greg G. Allen

Tax Commissioner

• Matthew C. Ledbetter

Judge of Probate Court

• Daisy Weeks-Marisko

Chief Magistrate

• Walker H. Bramblett

Chief Judge, State Court

of Forsyth County

• T. Russell McClelland III

Denise Ray is a Reporter with Appen Media Group and covers Forsyth county.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.