Varsity news April 28, 2014



Flagler College

ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. – Matthew Motz of Milton and Susannah Schloss of Mountain Park were part of a group of 65 Flagler College freshmen that were honored by Omicron Delta Kappa, the college’s leadership organization, for distinguishing themselves while building their legacy at Flagler. The honored students were nominated by college faculty members, staff and current ODK members.

University of Oklahoma

NORMAN, Okla. – Several local students were listed on the University of Oklahoma Norman campus Honor Roll and President Honor Roll for the fall 2013 semester.

President Honor Roll students earned a 4.0 grade point average. In most colleges, students must earn a minimum 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale to be included on the Honor Roll. Students in the College of Architecture are recognized with a 3.3 or better, and students in the College of Engineering are recognized with a 3.0 or better.

Those recognized on the President Honor Roll include Kimberly Lynn Maxwell of Alpharetta, Keith D. Strasbaugh of Cumming and Philip Nathaniel Barker of Johns Creek. Honor Roll recognitions went to Claire Jean Demetree of Alpharetta, Allison Nicole Snyder of Roswell and Hani Suleiman of Suwanee.

Harding University

SEARCY, Ark. – Garrison Gerard of Suwanee spent a three-month semester studying abroad at Harding University in Paris, France (HIP).

As part of the HIP curriculum, Gerard spent the semester immersed in French culture and sharpening language skills. Students in the program have a full course load available to them taught by visiting professors who travel with the students. The classes encourage exploration and interaction among the French people.

Brenau University

GAINESVILLE, Ga. – The following local students achieved Dean’s List and Merit List honors at Brenau University for the fall 2013 semester. Dean’s List students earned at least a 3.6 grade point average for 15 semester hours, and Merit List students earned at least at 3.5 grade point average on coursework of less than 15 semester hours.

Dean’s List:

Caitlin Macalla Cavanaugh of Suwanee, Chelsea Morgan Foster of Alpharetta, Jennifer Marie Garciasalas of Suwanee, Laura Ann Harvey of Johns Creek, Deirdre Michele Kunze of Alpharetta, Ding Yuan of Duluth, Hogai Balouch of Cumming, Stephanie Lynn Desrosiers of Roswell, J.R. Mae B. Espinoza of Alpharetta, Angela Vicki Hawkins of Alpharetta, Shannon Nichole Heath of Alpharetta, Lindsay A. Kelly of Cumming, Jamie Leigh Merola of Cumming and Jordan Bryant Wallace of Cumming.

Merit List:

Carly Ann Berg of Duluth, Tara Sylace Davis of Cumming, Kathryn Mary Kibler of Cumming, Rachel Elizabeth Lange of Alpharetta, Nicolette Amanda Weaver of Cumming, Denisa J. Dafinescu of Suwanee and Lois Sherrell Powell of Suwanee.

This information appeared in the June 4, 2014 Revue and News

View desktop version