Sawnee Foundation awards $52,000 in scholarships



CUMMING, Ga. — The Sawnee Electric Membership Foundation recently awarded 13 local high school seniors each with a $4,000 scholarship.

The scholarship recipients were honored at a reception held at Sawnee EMC on April 22.

The seniors are Miranda Abe (Dawson County High School), Mia Austin (North Forsyth HS), Jason Bick (Johns Creek HS), Lacey Brown (Northview HS), Ryan Carr (Forsyth Central HS), Riley Jenkins (Creekview HS), Kaitlin Karschner (South Forsyth HS), David Kim (Lambert HS), Priscilla Kim (Johns Creek HS), Lindsey LeQuier (Alpharetta HS), Sathvik Namburar (Woodward Academy), Amanda Saulnier (Lambert HS) and Cole Simmons (Dawson County HS).

The funding for the scholarship program is derived from unclaimed funds from Sawnee EMC, which is separate and apart from the funds that the foundation distributes to charitable organizations.

In the past nine years, the Sawnee Electric Membership Foundation has awarded $311,000 in scholarships to 99 high school seniors within Sawnee EMC’s seven-county service area.

“Supporting those in need in our communities, and helping these outstanding students continue their education, is a key part of meeting the foundation’s core mission,” said Jerry Burum, chairman of the foundation’s board.

For more information, or contact Cindy Badgett, director of external affairs for Sawnee EMC, at 678-455-1399 or

View desktop version