National Merit names final round of Fulton award winners

A total of 61 recent graduates receive recognition and scholarships



The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced that 17 recent Fulton County graduates were named National Merit Scholars for 2012 in the final round of awards. In addition to National Merit Scholar distinction, these students earned scholarships from participating colleges.

This latest announcement brings the total of National Merit Scholars in 2012 from Fulton County schools to 61 total recipients.

2012 National Merit Scholarship Winners (final round recipients) from area schools:

Alpharetta High School - Andrew J. Mathes, Kunal D. Naik, Alexander E. Young

Northview High School - Samuel Hong, Joshika S. Money, Dhruv Nayar, Uday Sachdeva, Yasasvi Tadavarthi, Diana J. Wang, Yannan J. Wang, Sharon L. Zhang, Youmei Zhou

Johns Creek High School - Kevin H. Sun

Milton High School - Samuel A. Slappey

Roswell High School - Caitlin Brennan, Paul G. Kurr

All of the students were first identified through exceptionally high scores on the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which they took as juniors. They had a record of high academic performance, were endorsed and recommended by their school principal, and had earned high SAT scores confirming their earlier qualifying test performance.

View desktop version