Johns Creek Civitan Club honors special needs teachers



JOHNS CREEK, Ga. – The Johns Creek Civitan Club named three local educators as Johns Creek Special Needs Teachers of the Year May 7 at the Standard Club in Johns Creek.

They are Emily Boudreaux, Abbotts Hill Elementary School; Stephanie Hosley, River Trail Middle School; and Patty Nall, Johns Creek High School.

The teachers were nominated by school principals, and the Civitan Club selected one elementary school, one middle school and one high school teacher to be honored this year.

“The Johns Creek Civitan Club is proud to honor these teachers,” said Doug Smith, president of the Johns Creek Civitan Club. “The Johns Creek Special Needs Teacher of the Year award is our effort to highlight the important work these individuals do for the students.”

All of the Johns Creek Special Needs Teacher of the Year nominees were honored at the breakfast.

Nominees included:

Elementary school: Boudreaux, Abbotts Hill; Shannon McMahon, Barnwell Elementary; Kim Richards, Dolvin Elementary; Kate Pornsopone, Findley Oaks Elementary; Lauren Carter, Medlock Bridge Elementary; Lindsey Edwards, State Bridge Crossing Elementary.

Middle school: Diane Merdinger, Autrey Mill Middle; Hosley, River Trail Middle.

High school: Catherine Wise, Centennial High; Catherine Clements-Keith, Chattahoochee High; Nall, Johns Creek High; Renae Thompson, Northview High.

Sponsors of the breakfast were Riley McLendon LLC, Whole Foods and 8ight.

The Johns Creek Civitan Club meets on the first and third Tuesday each month at 7:30 a.m. at the Standard Club, 6230 Abbotts Bridge Road, Johns Creek. For information, visit

– Staff

View desktop version