’Hooch wrestlers region 6-AAAAAA champs

First region title since ‘97



JOHNS CREEK, Ga. – The Chattahoochee High School varsity wrestling team has been declared region champions for the first time since 1997 – the same year three of the team’s wrestlers were born.

In a day of hard-fought wrestling Feb. 2, Chattahoochee edged out rival North Forsyth High School by one point to take the Region 6-AAAAAA traditional wrestling championship at North Forsyth.

“Winning our region was one of the goals the team set for itself at the beginning of the season,” said head coach Jason Hicks. “’Hooch has an incredible coaching staff who dedicated themselves to preparing the team. And I am so proud of the wrestlers for all their hard work all season.”

The tournament win capped off a number of individual successes for Chattahoochee, with 11 wrestlers setting a school record by placing in the top four in their weight class and earning a spot in the East sectional tournament.

Those 11 wrestlers are Taylor Podhouser, Mikey Cunningham, Joey Reihing, Najee Banks, Jordan Pitt, Chris Wedel, Matt Picus, Brady Miller, Rowdy Miller, Sean Hoffmann and region champion Josh McMahan.

Chattahoochee will be host to the East sectional wrestling tournament this Friday and Saturday, Feb. 8 and 9. Wrestling will begin at 4 p.m. Friday and 8 a.m. Saturday.

Varsity team members and their weight classes include Pitt (106), Matt Allman (120), Reihing (126), Picus (132), Wes Rice (138), Rowdy Miller (145), Brady Miller (152), McMahan (160), Banks (170), Hoffmann (182), Wedel (195), Cunningham (220) and Podhouser (285).

View desktop version