Hembree Springs named 2012 Georgia School of Excellence



ROSWELL, Ga. – Hembree Springs Elementary School is starting off the school year with the news that it is a 2012 Georgia School of Excellence. Chosen from among all public schools in the state, the award signifies that the school has an outstanding educational program and is a model of excellence for other schools.

“Our school community is thrilled with the announcement and so proud of its students and staff,” said Kalpana Raju, Hembree Springs’ principal. “We plan to celebrate with an ice cream social this Friday after school.”

Raju said that setting high expectations, differentiating instruction of students and collaboration among staff enabled the school to reach its high level of performance.

“I thank my staff for their dedication and commitment to embracing change so that they can provide a quality instructional program,” said Raju.

Schools are honored in two categories: “Highest Performance” (highest performing schools on the College and Career-Ready Performance Index) and “Highest Progress” (schools making the greatest gains on the College and Career-Ready Performance Index). Hembree Springs was recognized in the Highest Performance category. In order to achieve this designation, the school had to earn a CCRPI score greater than 90 and not be identified as a Priority, Focus or Alert school. Hembree Springs earned a CCRPI score of 100.3.

“Hembree Springs Elementary is a Georgia School of Excellence in every way,” said Fulton County Schools Superintendent Robert Avossa. “Teachers provide a top-notch academic program, staff work together for the success of each student and its leadership team sets clear and challenging goals to reach. I couldn’t be more proud of what they have accomplished.”

Twenty-eight public schools were chosen from the state’s 14 congressional districts. Each of these schools, including Hembree Springs, will receive $1,000 from Georgia Natural Gas to spend any way it wishes. The company is a 2012 sponsor of the Georgia Department of Education’s Schools of Excellence and Teacher of the Year programs.

—Jonathan Copsey

View desktop version