Hausmann to chair Atlanta-Fulton Water Resources Commission



ATLANTA – Board members of the Atlanta-Fulton County Water Resources Commission (AFCWRC) have elected Fulton County Commissioner Liz Hausmann, District 3, to serve as chairwoman for 2014.

She previously served as chair of the AFCWRC in 2012 and served as vice chair in 2011. Her appointment is for a one-year term.

“Water is an issue of critical importance in Fulton County and throughout our state and region. I look forward to continuing our important work with this commission,” said Hausmann. “The protection of the environment and, more specifically, our water resources, is vital to the overall health, welfare and economic progress of the county and its citizens.”

The AFCWRC is a seven-member management commission that acts as agent for the city of Atlanta and Fulton County, owners of the Atlanta-Fulton County Water Treatment Facility at 9750 Spruill Road, Johns Creek. This facility provides drinking water to both Atlanta and North Fulton County systems via two independent, yet connected, sets of pumps and piping.

Together with the city of Atlanta, the AFCWRC is responsible for meeting the needs of 90 percent of water customers in Fulton County.

JC 05-01-14

View desktop version