Forsyth farmers eligible for federal aid



WASHINGTON, D.C. – The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated Forsyth County and 150 other counties in Georgia as natural disaster areas Nov. 26 due to losses caused by continued drought and excessive heat that began July 1.

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met. Eligible farmers have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures. Additional information is also available online at

View desktop version