Deal declares state of emergency



Gov. Deal declares state of emergency

ATLANTA — Georgia Gov. Nathan deal has declared a state of emergency for 14 north Georgia counties due to a Winter Storm Warning that goes into effect Monday night.

Deal announced Monday morning that he will expand the state of emergency to additional counties as needed.

Counties currently included in the alert are Banks, Cherokee, Dawson, Fannin, Forsyth, Gilmer, Hall, Jackson, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Towns, Union, and White.

He will also gather the Operations Command -- which includes the director of GEMA, the DOT, State Patrol and Natural Resources -- at 11 a.m. Monday; the center will stay open until the emergency response ends.

In a release, Deal encouraged north Georgia and metro Atlanta residents to "stay off the roads if at all possible (Monday afternoon) so that we limit traffic and make way for workers to treat the highways."

View desktop version