Amos elected new Forsyth County chairman



FORSYTH COUNTY, Ga. — Forsyth County has a new chairman in the New Year.

The board voted 4-0, Commissioner Todd Levent was absent, to elect R.J. “Pete” Amos as the new chairman of the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners.

“We all want the same thing for Forsyth County, we want to keep the county moving forward,” Amos said after the regular meeting Jan. 3.

Amos said the board of commissioners was able to accomplish a lot last year, including a resolution to the water contract with the city of Cumming. This year, Amos said he’d like to keep expenses and the budget down.

“We’ve got to get the courthouse and jail built now, so that’s the direction we want the county to go and keep the county moving smoothly,” Amos said.

Jim Boff, who originated the motion to elect Amos as chairman, was selected as vice chairman.

Commissioner Brian Tam was elected secretary.

Boff and Tam won reelection last year.

The chairman, who serves for a year, has the same rights as other commissioners. Their role is to preside over meetings, call for a vote and call for a recess.

Amos was elected in 2010 to serve as the District 1 commissioner. His term ends in 2014.

Prior to being elected to the Board of Commissioners, Amos served as chairman of the Forsyth County Planning Commission for six years.

Amos is a business administration graduate of the University of Georgia. He owns A&A Water Co. He is married to Catherine and they have one grown son, Slate.



The meeting was new Commissioner Cindy Jones Mills’ first regular meeting. Mills was elected to serve District 4, which covers north portions of the county. A lifelong resident of Forsyth County, Mills defeated Patrick Bell with 66 percent of the votes in the August run-off.

Mills appointed several members to serve on boards for District 4, including Alan Neal to the Planning Commission; Bettina Hammond to the Zoning Board of Appeals; Charles Albert “Bert” Durant to the Public Facilities Authority; Gary Cooper to the Parks and Recreation Board and Deborah Chambers to the Keep Forsyth County Beautiful board.

District 2 Commissioner Tam re-appointed Jerry Bowman to the Public Facilities Authority.

In District 5 Commissioner Boff reappointed Dr. Joseph Moses to the Planning Commission; Debra Bradley to the Zoning Board of Appeals and Richard Ward to the Public Facilities Authority.


Forsyth County Commissioners approved a request to issue a bid for the construction of the Forsyth County Animal Shelter.

In July, the board awarded the architectural and engineering of the project to Shelterplanners/RKS Green Consulting through the recommendation of the Forsyth County Animal Control & Shelter Advisory.

The shelter was voter approved as part of the 1 percent sales tax extension. The $2.6 million shelter will be built on a 4-acre site in North Forsyth off Ga. 400 on County Way.

The project is estimated to be completed in early 2014.

All votes listed above were 4-0 with Commissioner Todd Levent absent.

View desktop version