Alpharetta Historical Society presents new board

Installation at annual picnic June 16, 4 p.m.



ALPHARETTA, Ga. – The Alpharetta Historical Society will have its annual picnic Saturday, June 16, at the Mansell House and Gardens at 4p.m.

The 2012-2013 AHS Board of Directors will be installed at this event. President Nan Harman-Dempsey will conduct the meeting which will include the induction of the new Board for 2012-2013. Each new board member will be asked to take the society’s oath to preserve the past, in the present, for the future.

A garden bench will be unveiled at the picnic to honor the Society’s first president, Leona Collins. The bench will be placed at the Mansell House and Gardens to preserve her memory.

The public is invited to attend the picnic. The Alpharetta Historical Society will provide the meat, bread, and drinks. Everyone who attends is asked to bring a dish to share.

The 2012-2013 Alpharetta Historical Society Board of Directors includes:

Nan Harman-Dempsey (President); Ben Hollingsworth (Vice President); Pat Hunter (Secretary); Ellon Jones (Treasurer); Connie Mashburn (Archives/Historian);

Jim Spruell (Finance); Donald Mitchell (Preservation); Martine Broadwell (Heritage); Lynn Sickeler (Programs); Janet Rodgers (Public Relations); Bill Lusk (Trustee); Hazel Reese (Trustee); Phil Monzo (Trustee); Marjean Birt (Trustee); and Eugene Fouts (Trustee).

The motto for the AHS is to “Preserve the Past, in the Present, for the Future”.

For information about the Alpharetta Historical Society, visit

View desktop version