Sunny, 81°
A new era in Roswell:

Elections end with new mayor, 4 councilmembers



ROSWELL, Ga. — Election season is now officially over in Roswell with four new councilmembers and the city’s first new mayor in almost 20 years.

Lori Henry is replacing Jere Wood, who has been Roswell’s mayor since 1998 when he defeated incumbent W. L. “Pug” Mabry. Henry won against Lee Jenkins in the Dec. 5 runoff elections with 55 percent or 6,594 votes.

Matt Judy also won the Dec. 5 runoffs for Post 6 on Roswell City Council. He netted close to 60 percent of the vote against Karen Parrish.

Sean Groer likewise emerged victorious from the Post 3 Special Election, the most contested race this season with six initial candidates. Groer won 54 percent against Mike Nyden in the runoff.

Early in November, voters decided on two new councilmembers – Marie Willsey for Post 4 and Matthew Tyser for Post 5. They will join current sitting councilmembers Mike Palermo and Marcelo Zapata.

View desktop version